Racing To The Beautiful People

Posted: July 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

Welcome to my lovely racial puzzle.

Medicated Words

I have much to say on the topic of self-realization and how I take note of the ‘beautiful people’ in the world. Such topics could take a lifetime to type out. So I’ll try my best to summarize.

For the first 8 years of my life my self-image was wonderful. I lived in a neighborhood where almost everyone looked like me. Throw in some cute ponytails and frilly dresses and I was adorable.

Then we moved to Pasadena, California. Culture shock on steroids! I had never seen black people, Asians, Armenians, Jews, Russians and everyone else. They scared me. Especially the black kids. Keep in mind I wasn’t even ten when this happened.

In retrospect, the black kids probably scared me because their skin was the most pronounced. Once a black girl had lunch and a very honest conversation with me I was no longer scared.

Then she asked a question…

View original post 328 more words

Leave a Reply

