Fabulously Askew

Posted: July 11, 2014 in America, Friendship, Fun, Life, Politics, Race, Religion, Society
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I just finished watching a documentary For the Bible Tells Me So (2007) about how conservative Christians use the Bible to justify their oppression and hatred against the LGBT community.

I enjoyed the debate and evolution of families from a social and religious standpoint, but I got to thinking outside this hotbed (no pun intended) of drama.

I need a world with weird, kooky, complicated, askew, flamboyant and blazingly different. I could never live in a gated community where all the houses look alike. It would drive me nuts!

There is nothing I love more than variety. I look back to the times when America looked like it was under the Stepford Wives spell. In the 50s everything was lovely, pleasing and sterile as hell.

I need the gays, lesbians, question marks, weirdoes, kooks, nerds, troubadours, readers, blacks, whites, foreigners with thick accents and manic hug-hoarding riot starters.

Life would be awful if no one tried to jam the square peg into the round hole. Go ahead and paint outside the lines. As a matter of fact, get a demolition crew and blow up the lines!

Still, there are people who want meatloaf on Tuesdays and their clothes starched, pressed and hanging thoughtfully in the closet. Cool. As long as you’re happy. Just don’t shove your nirvana into my happiness.

 

Leave a Reply

