Masters Of The Universe

Posted: March 10, 2014 in Children, Nature, Society
Tags: , , , , ,

Last night, I watched the show Cosmos: A Space Time Odyssey with Neil de Grasse Tyson. It reminded me of my childlike awe about the world and space.

Prior to seeing Carl Sagan’s Cosmos: A Personal Voyage, I came to a theory on the nature of the entirety of all that we are and all that we see.

As a very young girl, I use to go to the beach. I looked at the grains of sand and concluded that it was impossible to count them all on that beach. Then I thought of all the other beaches and the ocean floor.

I surmised that there are worlds that man can never see or calibrate. It didn’t scare me, but it let me know where I stood in the world and universe.

It wasn’t long before I looked up in the night sky and realized that it has no borders. I knew I couldn’t see everything and again, it humbled me.

It’s easy to call powerful men of politics and wealth ‘masters of the universe’ . The truth is they and everyone else, are tiny specks in the grand scheme of things.

I think that people forget or ignore this basic fact. As wondrous as mankind’s accomplishments are, we will never be  ‘masters of the universe’ .

Mankind is far too petty, scared, closed-minded and selfish to be masters of anything. I guess that is just our nature . We tend to lose as quickly as we gain.

How I wish that powerful men could pick up a grain of sand and realize that they’re looking at themselves. I think we all occasionally need that perspective.

Leave a Reply

