Hurry Up … Slow Down 2013

Posted: December 30, 2013 in America, Life, Politics, Society
Tags: , , , , ,

As a child, I was very idealistic about innovative changes in the future. By future, I mean anytime after 1990. I saw rapid changes everywhere in the 80s. Why would it slow down?

I figured that George Jetson technology was a certainty.  Flying cars, robot housekeepers and homes floating in mid-air (I only half-heartedly believed that one) was the stuff of dreams.

Don’t get me wrong. We have massive innovative technology in every corner of our lives and globe. Communicating, research and broadcasting opinions (some rather useless) is effortless. Even toddlers are tech-savvy!

Letter writing, pounding the pavement for a job and finding love use to be major challenges. These monumental stressors are a thing of the past. Your PC, iPad or smart phone knows you better than you know yourself.

I bring about all these points because tomorrow is the last day of 2013. In my 44 years on this earth, I have witnessed the ushering of life-altering inventions. Just to name a few:

Home computer and its various children and grandchildren (laptop, notebook, iPod, iPad)

The internet and social media – there is no travel like cyber travel!

Video games – Yes, I was around for Atari, Pac-Man, Space Invaders and God help me, Pong!

Cell Phones – it’s the great-granddaddy of the smart phone

Smart cars – Hybrids, Electric and Solar powered cars will save us

YouTube – The greatest reporter known to man. Political gaffes, military uprisings and other global events get on YouTube before CNN or BBC.

Cameras – they are used by law enforcement, scattered throughout metro centers and used during various forms of surgery on humans and animals. Not only is Big Brother watching but he knows you inside out!

TV got cable (Select TV was the first), bigger, then thinner (plasma), then digital, then smarter and now it’s a 3D Netflix Blue-Ray junkie! I had snow in my 2 ton 18′ TV set. And yes, I used the aluminum foil to make a ghetto antenna!

What lovely shiny, plastic gadgetry will we have by 2020? I’m fairly certain that we still won’t have flying cars like in The Jetsons or Back to the Future 2.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

