Tune Up

Posted: October 24, 2013 in America, Art, Children, Life, Love, Music, Race, sex, Society, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

It occurred to me the other day that my life has its own soundtrack. I tried really hard to remember what it was when I was very young.

My nursery rhymes were in Spanish: Pimpón, Las Mañanitas and Agua De Melon made me giggle and sing. When my mother ran her fingers through my hair and sang, it was heaven.

Low-rider Chevy Impalas always had La Cucaracha for a horn and of course Low rider from War playing.  Throw in the gratuitous Guadalajara from a Mariachi band.

My pre-teen years were spotted with a lot of music!  Classical music at first put me to sleep. Later my mind fell in love with Chopin and Mozart. I would dream of going back in time and marrying Mozart. Hey, I was a kid.

Like every red-blooded American teenage girl, rock was king! The Police, Genesis, The B-52s, Fleetwood Mac, Bee Gees, The Eagles  and so much more. When I felt dark Pat Benatar’s Love is a Battlefield or Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit did it for me. If I was feeling crazy weird Cyndi Lauper, The Eurhythmics or Oingo Boingo did the trick or at least distracted me.

I was never a big Madonna fan. The kings of my heart were Duran Duran from England. They looked so hot. Of course, I had my favorite (Simon Le Bon) .  I swear I was super geeked out every time I saw them on MTV.

My music as an adult is a potpourri of humanity. I appreciate all types of artist young and old, foreign and domestic, rockers and crooners … everything that isn’t self-serving garbage! I’m 44 years old and Simon Le Bon hasn’t made the cut in decades.

Comments
  1. Howisbradley says:

    You pretty much listed my entire old tape collection. I’m now trying to think, if there was only one song to choose, what would be my theme song? Thanks A lot! This will probably drive me crazy for days! lol

    Like

  2. coconutspeak says:

    Sweet Dreams from the Eurhythmics would be my theme song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

