Operation PDA

Posted: October 19, 2013 in America, Children, Family, Friendship, Life, Love, Men, Mexico, sex, Society, women
Tags: , , , , , ,

Lets talk about PDAs. Public Displays of Affection are par for the course when it comes to Latinos. Not all societies embrace (no pun intended) this tradition.

I am absolutely straight. I also kiss my mother, sister, female friends and family. When I lived in Mexico, I walked arm in arm or holding hands with all my female relatives.

If I had done that in the U.S. people most likely would have thought of me as a lesbian or bisexual. By the way, there is nothing wrong with being a lesbian or bisexual.

Now lets talk about men’s same-sex PDAs. You got your bro hug, fist tap, high-five, full-on hug and kiss on the cheek for dear old dad, grandpa or favorite uncle on his death-bed.

I know lots of kids that kiss both genders on the lips. It doesn’t make them dirty. It isn’t sexual in any way. Then they reach an age when it’s programmed into their brains, it isn’t okay to kiss on the lips anymore.

Many men and women in other countries don’t have an issue with this, but Americans do. Why is that? I think it’s because Americans demonize love and affection. If men do it, it must be dirty. If women do it, they must be sluts.

American society also wants to avoid the sex talk. Why is this? Are they afraid their kids will say gross, nasty or yuck? Or maybe they’re afraid they’ll have more questions.

Parents need to talk about it. If they don’t talk, a pervert or horny kid will have their own talk with them. We all sigh when a parent kisses a young child. It’s sweet. I think people make the sweetness dirty.

 

 

Leave a Reply

