This American

Posted: October 14, 2013 in America, Bipolar, Children, Family, Health, Life, Love, Politics, Race, Religion, sex, Society
Tags: , , , ,

In case you don’t know who I am, I am complicated. I am a member of various groups. I have gathered many life experiences. And I feel that I have gathered some wisdom that affords me a say on many social issues.

I am a bilingual Mexican-American, Christian married woman. I am also a survivor of domestic violence and molestation. In my 20s, I resided in a home without utilities for nearly a year. At 43 years of age, I had a hysterectomy.  For the past 4 years (I think) I’ve been on psychotropic drugs for my permanent bipolar disorder.

I don’t list my biographical highs and lows for the sake of sympathy. I’m 44 years old and my life is still under construction. I’m okay with not knowing everything. I feel that I have to work with what I know. So, in that vein, lets look at the oppressors of American society.

I see a lot of God spokesmen out there. Apparently, God hates a lot of people. The Almighty hates LGBT, Muslims, Democrats, Planned Parenthood and all those people who don’t double-knot their shoe laces!

Succinctly, they will burn in hell forever! Really? Isn’t that a little rough? Hate does not feel good. For me to hate one person is physically nauseating. Can you imagine hating millions? I thought He loved the world so much that he sacrificed His only son. It doesn’t make sense.

And how did these agents of God get an appointment with Him? Is He on Twitter or Facebook? Does He have an e-mail address or blog? Maybe He is being represented by the William Morris Agency! How do we know we know their message is accurate? We don’t.

I question a lot of things in the Bible. It is not a how-to-book. Why not just focus in on the benevolence of Jesus Christ? Why can’t we start with love, compassion, brotherhood and looking out for each other. If someone needs you, do not turn them away.

I know what it’s like to be poor and hungry. My father died in a hospital in his final days. Before that, he had a stroke on the streets. He was homeless. Are the homeless less than human to Christians?

Do not call yourself a Christian if you refuse to have taxpayer money go to the poor. My mother had three jobs and still needed food stamps and Medi-Cal (Medicaid) to support her three children. That’s right, Pro-Lifers! Where are you now for today’s impoverished moms and babies?

The truth is, a real patriotic American does more than wave a flag or fire off a few rounds on The Fourth of July. A real patriot respects ALL Americans. Respect. Not love, agree with or endorse in any way. No one is innocent. And no one wants to be seen under a microscope.

Comments
  1. coconutspeak says:

    Reblogged this on coconutspeak and commented:

    Just A Thought

    Like

  2. Howisbradley says:

    Excellent post. It made me ponder,smile, laugh, and angry all within seconds of each other.

    Like

Leave a Reply

