Hungry?

Posted: August 21, 2013 in Children, Health, Life, Society
Tags: , , , , ,

In an effort to see the evolution of my life’s diet (food intake not lose weight), I’ve decided to type out the general food staples.

Infant to toddler – Formula, bananas and cooked veggies that were put through blender. Not exactly a palate pleaser.

Age 5 to 10 – Cheerios, milk, fresh fruit, Mexican rice, refried pinto beans, chorizo, fajitas, tortillas and avocados. Absolute joy! I’m not sure why.

Age 11 to 16 – Bananas, cantaloupe, peaches, milk, iced tea, wheat bread, cereal, eggs, chorizo for breakfast. Tuna salad, Grilled cheese sandwich for lunch. Mexican rice, refried pinto beans, tortillas and avocados. – Beans rice and chorizo hid our poverty pretty well.

Age 17 to 19 – Marlboro 100 Lights, coffee, ice water with lime. Another smoke, Doritos and a Pepsi for lunch. Veggies, meat, rice and iced tea.

Age 20 to 29 – 99 cent store Stove Top noodles with ‘chicken flavoring’,  Marlboro 100 Lights, coffee, ice water with lime, peanut butter and jelly sandwich, pizza, Doritos and spaghetti

Age 30 to Present Day – My smokes are gone. I eat cereal or oatmeal with milk and a banana. (yes , I love bananas). Lunch is whatever is easy and plentiful. Dinner is me giving my husband the ‘help me, I’m clueless’ look . He then picks up real Mexican food. I always get a burrito with guacamole.

A few notes worth pointing out, I have been eating Japanese food since I was 8 years old. We would go every Sunday after church.  I try to talk my husband into taking me whenever possible.

There were times when I was hungry as a child and as an adult. No one should ever have to endure that. My father was homeless and died several years ago. I’ve been known to buy a meal for a homeless person. It’s my way of thanking anyone that ever helped my father.

 

Leave a Reply

