Swallow Your Pill

Posted: July 18, 2013 in Bipolar, Health, Society
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been sick for a little bit over a week. I had dizziness, confusion, muscle aches/tightness, upset stomach and nausea.

At first, I thought I had the flu. Then I thought I had fibromyalgia. Then I decided not to guess anymore. Today I saw my primary doctor.

Turns out I had neither. On Tuesday, I went in for labs. My doctor got the results today and enlightened me on lithium carbonate.

I’ve been taking a combination of psychotropic drugs for years. One of them is lithium carbonate. The dosage was increased some months ago.

My psychiatrist had prescribed thyroid hormone replacement two months and I failed to take it.

Had I taken it, I would not have been sick for 10 days thinking I had fibromyalgia (an incurable disease). I’m not sure why I didn’t take it.

Maybe it’s because I take so many pills and I resent it. I am ashamed of myself. I have all these pills to make my life better.

And so many very sick people have no medication. I saw The Plague on the History Channel.

It made me think about how much suffering the sick endured before they mercifully died. I am going to take all my pills everyday from now on.

Comments
  1. bpshielsy says:

    Glad you’re feeling better.

    Try not to feel ashamed of yourself. You didn’t choose to have your ailments, but by taking the pills to make your life better, you’re kicking mental illness in the stains! 🙂

    Like

  2. coconutspeak says:

    Thanks my friend. I’ve been living with my bipolar disorder and I ought to know better. The thing is that I will still go through bouts of mania and racing thoughts. I try to deal with it and my husband helps but it can get so tiresome. You know how it is.

    Like

  3. you’re better now, it’s what matters. tony

    Like

Leave a Reply

