Country Club … No

Posted: June 15, 2013 in America, Friendship, Life, Love, Politics, Society
Tags: , , ,

Last night my husband and I hosted a game night with 6 truly funny friends.

We were vulgar, loud and socially inappropriate.  Therefore hilariously awesome.

Between drinks, snacks and a politically vile game (Cards Against Humanity) I found myself feeling wealthy.

When you throw out the word wealth most people think of money. I’m guilty of that.

Wealth, in truth, is about assets. Valuable resources that you have access to. I prefer this viewpoint.

My valuable resources are as follows:

1. Loved ones – family and friends will never betray or reject me. They love me and want the best for me.

2. Insight – the most important sight of all.

3. Empathy – I don’t want to live without this one.

4. Polite and sincere kindness – This opens doors that all should walk through.

5. My love of words, new ideas and history – It lets me know how great we can be.

5. The intelligence to know the value of my resources and acknowledge the resources of others.

Wealth is so important to everyone. It fuels our will to move forward emotionally, socially and spiritually.

The kids that get love and attention from a 2 parent household (gay or straight) are wealthy.

The single mom/waitress that gets a foot massage from her straight A student kid is wealthy.

The alcoholic who says fuck you to booze and goes to his AA meeting instead is really wealthy.

There’s a lot of wealthy folks out there. And too many poor folks in seats of power. Still, life is about change.

Leave a Reply

