The Goodness Of Mess

Posted: December 11, 2012 in Bipolar, Children, Life, Politics, Society
Tags: , , , ,

Earlier today, I saw most of the movie Ordinary People. It depicted a family who lost a son in a boating accident.

At one point, I see the parents making the rounds at a friend’s party. They sounded cheerful, clever and witty.

Presumably, their son’s death was less than a year ago. I know it’s just a movie, but it got me thinking.

How many of us prefer the image of stability to messy feelings? Personally, I’ve never cared for the image. I love feelings.

This would explain why I’m bipolar. I feel things 100 times more than ‘normal’ people.  This can be problematic.

Feelings are a double-edged sword. They can make a mess of things, but not dealing with them can be worse.

Why is it so important to look put-together, in control or fabulous? Maybe anything less than perfect is thought of as weak. God forbid!

Life can unravel and ‘perfect’ people can fall into despair. How many perfectly quiet people have taken an AK-47 and committed mass murder/suicide?

Perfection is a virus on the human psyche. We are hardwired to make mistakes, learn from them and move on.

Intelligence is not about knowing everything. It’s about using what you know at an optimal, efficient level.

There are lots of knowledgable morons out there. If they’re good-looking or rich, they end up Washington D.C.

So please, don’t gasp if your kid comes home with a scab, C+ average or pink hair. At least she’s not vomitting to be skinny or take a test.

 

Comments
  1. syrbal says:

    I never saw the movie, but I think I read the book. Maybe my memory is failing…I thought their son had committed suicide!

    Like

Leave a Reply

