In My Lifetime

Posted: December 10, 2012 in America, Life, Nature, Politics, Race, sex, Society
Tags: , , , ,

I am old and I have proof! Unfathomable things have arisen in my lifetime. Some are good, bad and others are …. interesting.

1. The birth of the video game console. Pong and Space Invaders, what the hell! Now the games are Hollywood movie productions with wireless controllers!

2. The personal computer was a very expensive paper weight. Remember the Radio Shack Tandy with its tape recorder box ?

3. Our beloved internet was nothing without Microsoft and Apple. Thank God they connected us to the world. Sadly, the world isnt’s all good.

4. Cable and satellite TV saved us all from bad reception, antennas and boring television programming. I do not miss the after school specials or mini series.

5. The first cell phone was huge! It had a charger that resembled a suitcase. Today, you get games, camera, internet access and they’re small enough to lose.

6. Twenty years ago, I never thought I would see an African-American President. Right on, people!

7. The legalization of same-sex marriage pleasingly surprised me. All we need now is ruling from the Supreme Court.

8. I never thought an American city would ever be attacked by a foreign aggressor after Pearl Harbor.

9. I was disgusted when American citizens died waiting for federal aid after Hurricane Katrina. It was unprecedented.

10. I couldn’t believe it when black voter suppression and intimidation efforts were enacted decades after the height of Civil Rights Movement.

Comments
  1. Doris says:

    My dad had an old cell phone we made fun of him…good list

    Like

  2. I’m not sure what black voter suppression measures you’re talking about, and I would expect “wars” of the future to be lower intensity and fought by nation states primarily against non-nation state, transnational groups who have the power to challenge the regional governments for control of some or all territory in that region. Glad to see technology advance, I just wish my generation wasn’t so glued to the controller. We have Marines in the Infantry right now who can’t navigate on foot by map and compass. Unacceptable.

    Like

  3. did you notice that 7 out of ten were based on greed? People say our country is the greatest, yet people are still starving and freezing to death while others rape the planet. We say we are the most intelligent species on Earth, yet we are destroying our own habitat. Whats that saying..”War does not determine who is right – only who is left.” I could go on for days, but it would depress me. You can only do what you can do. Leave the rest to God. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

