Trip To 70s East L.A.

Posted: December 8, 2012 in Children, Friendship, Life, Mexico, Race, Society, women
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Little Monica For some reason, I’m feeling very nostalgic. My mind is stuck in the 70’s. It probably has to do with me listening to 70’s music.

I don’t think that is the only catalyst. The 70’s in East L.A. was strange, dangerous and cool time.

Vatos, their viejas, Abuelitas and kids were all unwilling members of stereotypical Chicano perceptions.

In the barrio fish tank, it didn’t matter if you were legal or illegal. We protected our own, one way or another.

That’s were the danger came into play. Nothing is free. Favors have to be repaid. Example: I never got touched by gangs, because I delivered ‘stuff’.

Yes, sweet little Moni ( 7 or 8 years-old), may have been a mule. I never looked at the ‘stuff’ and it was only a few blocks to the drop.

The soundtrack to this part of my life was made up of Santana, WAR, The Eagles, Bad Company, Elton John, Chaka Khan, Linda Ronstadt and The Doobie Brothers.

The summers were brutal yet cherished. Going outside as the steam from the street was rising was magical.

My dinners were consumed on a porch, stoop or sidewalk.  It was usually wrapped in foil paper and dripped like crazy. My drink came from a garden hose and tasted great!

Tough little kids playing stickball at night was something you could count on. I didn’t play. They scared me.

You could always count on hearing kids or viejas (old ladies) getting a good sound beating. Bruises and forgiveness were common.

Sadly, murder suicides occasionally happened too. It always seemed funny to me why the outrage never seemed to last within the neighborhood.

Just a few weeks after the atrocity, my world went under its convenient trance and smiled again. Latinos are good at masking things.

It’s funny how I miss such a violent, impoverished and splendid part of my life. I guess it’s because it shows how my people began for me.

Comments
  1. kikischeuer says:

    Hello there my wonderfully talented friend! I have nominated you for the ‘Blog of the Year 2012 Award’! Please, check out my blog for the details! 😀
    Kyla

    Like

  2. wow thats intense. glad you made it through… great story too, I like your straightforward no shit approach..lol get em! 😉

    Like

  3. coconutspeak says:

    Yeah, I hate being phoney. My abuelito use to tell me that the most beautiful diamonds have many facets and come from ugly places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

