Tips Equals Survival

Posted: November 30, 2012 in America, Life, Society, women
Tags: , , , ,

In my 43 years of living, I have been on both sides of personal service. I refer to housekeepers, waitresses, manicurist ect. Any job that requires personal contact.

The list is long, I know. I think it is important to realize how amazingly important these jobs are for society.

You might think I’m crazy when I say that, but think about it.  Mothers are the unpaid members of this classification as well.

These people, in a nutshell, take care of you. They make your meals, home, car, hair and nails terrific.

We all get a universal benefit from good service. Rejuvenation! The intangible boost that makes us move forward and tackle the world.

My mother supported three kids by working as a waitress, church janitor and food server at a senor citizen center.

At a very young age, she told me never to go to a restaurant, salon or hotel unless I had tip money.

If I did go without tip money, it would be a slap in the face to her. Tips equaled survival for families, she told me.

As I got older, I found that it was my obligation and honor as a ‘regular’ to be understanding, humble and gracious.

If you’ve been going there for years, you should every person’s first name. Being an elitist is the same as being an asshole.

Comments

Leave a Reply

