Perfect Love

Posted: November 25, 2012 in Bipolar, Life, Love, Men, sex, women
Tags: , , , ,

“I love her”, he proclaims with all his heart! More to the point, unexperienced heart. Why do you love her? Is she perfect?

My dear boy, I can assure you, she is not. Do you see pure love in her eyes? You may indeed see it. So what do you do now?

Love can be wonderful. Hell, I met and married my husband on Valentine’s Day 1999 and 2000. Our reception was in a castle!

We flew to Maui for our honeymoon and it just couldn’t get more romantic! For the moment, let’s forget about all the sugar.

Let’s talk about a frog I had to kiss, before I found my husband. I’m sure that being an undiagnosed bipolar added to my love problems.

I wanted a beautifully flawless, stallion of a man to want me more than air. Guess what? I found one and it wasn’t good.

I tried to break-up with him. He beat and choked me. Then damaged my bedroom window. He was arrested and a restraining order was put in place.

Why did this happen? He wanted me more than air! That’s not love, its obsession. I got what I wanted, right?

This whole thing about getting what you want can be tricky. Most people don’t really know what they want. So don’t say she or he is everything you want.

Imagine for a second that your married to an energetic, gorgeous, intelligent, wealthy person. What do you think your spouse is going to expect from you?

Can you meet the challenge? Are you good enough? I know I’m not. I know that I’m a hot mess! What’s my message, here?

Don’t look for perfection, because you are not perfect. Look for the one that will love you when you have nothing to offer in return.

There may come a day or many days when you will be incapable of sex, making money or even speech. The one by your side then, will be perfect for you.

Comments
  1. 100% right.

    “Wanting someone more than air” is not love, it is obsession and lust. Neither is good for a relationship.

    Also, nobody is perfect. So, someone who looks “perfect”, since they are perfect in so many “important” ways, must also have many serious flaws – in his personality and/or emotional and mental health. Just something to be aware of. The most perfect people are often the least perfect among us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

