Road Trip

Posted: November 10, 2012 in Children, Life, Travel, women
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It occurred to me the other day that I miss hanging out with my mother and sister. So I suggested we take a little road trip to Central California.

It has been years since we all visited Hearst Castle in San Simeon. When I was in my 20’s we stayed in a motel on Moonstone Beach in Cambria.

So I booked us a room on Moonstone Beach this time. Since my sister is legally blind, my mother and I will share the driving.

The intent is to have a good time and relax. I want us all singing in the car, laughing and happy. I told my mother what I wanted and her response was not what I expected.

She said that she wanted us to be respectful. Respectful? If your laughing, having fun and singing, how can you be disrespectful? Then I said, it would nice if we can focus on having fun.

I wanted us to be carefree, not worry about the time and in a good mood. She said, that’s fine but be respectful. This whole respect fixation concerns me.

It makes me feel like a 10 year-old. It makes me think that she’s looking for me to mess up or my sister.  That said, I still want to go on the trip.

Comments
  1. Doris says:

    I hope you do go, I don’t get why your mom keeps saying that but then again all moms can be like that, but have fun if you do and be Respectful lol ha!

    Like

  2. coconutspeak says:

    lol … Dios mio! Como no?

    Like

  3. Adam S says:

    I’d like to pass on an award to you. It’s the reader appreciation award. I can’t leave a link because it gets deleted, but if you visit the Trophies and Stuff tab on my page, you’ll find it toward the bottom. Do what you like with it, just wanted to say thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

