Bragging

Posted: October 4, 2012 in Children, Life, Love, women
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As you may or may not know, I am childless. I shall never bear children and I’m okay with that. When a 43-year-old Latina is assigned this distinction, she becomes a ‘super aunt’.

Zachary 13-years-old and Amanda 12-years-old are my brother’s children. I have been in their lives since birth. My love for them is absolute and unwavering.

Last Sunday, we celebrated Amanda’s 12th birthday. She’s two inches taller than me (5,8)! How did that happen? Zack is a giant at 5,11!

The good news is that they still love, hug and kiss me. Maybe it’s because I told them that they were perfect without having to try to be perfect..

I’ve bathed them, changed their diapers, rocked them in my arms and massaged their backs to get them to sleep. Playing and going out with them means so much to me.

I was never angry, stern or disappointed by anything they ever did. They’re good-hearted, silly, curious and bright kids who happen to love each other and their family.

Yes, you read correctly. They really do love each other. They engage in sibling rivalry in a very playful manner. If an argument happens, it’s usually resolved the same day.

As they get older, I see facial expressions and mannerisms that are mine or my brothers. I get such a kick out of it. A little part of me is inside them!

I have no idea what the future holds for them, but I will always be on their side, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

