All My Names

Posted: September 27, 2012 in Children, Life, Love, women
Tags: , , , ,

I was thinking about all the names I have gone by throughout my life. First off, they’ve been variations of Monica and some nicknames that I can’t believe I’m disclosing.

The oldest variation is Moni. To this day, my mother, sister, brother, niece and nephew (in California) call me Moni. My mother-in-law, father-in-law, sister-in-law and brother-in-law and nephews (East coast) call me Monica.

My husband only calls me Monica when he needs to call my attention to something, otherwise he’ll call me Baby or Honey.  Now from the ages of 15 to 28ish, the list gets crazy.

All 4 years of high school I was called Pookie or Pookie Bear by a few pals! I have no idea how that got started, but after I graduated anyone that called me that got punched in the gut.

I was called Moniker by my first collection agency boss.  I worked for him for 8 years. Yes, I was a bill collector, but a very nice one. I never sued anyone, yelled or threatened.

When I was a little girl in East Los Angeles, the gangsters called me Little Moni.  My Mexican grandfather called me Moniquita or Moni. I sure do miss hearing him say it.

Comments
  1. When I was a little girl, my mother would call me Turtle because she said it was like I did everything in slow motion. When you have a short name (Amy), it’s hard to get a good nickname! My sister’s name is Gretchen, and Gretchen’s best friend’s little girl can’t say Gretchen, so she calls her Scratchy…now that’s what everybody calls her…except my mom, who always has called her Ladybug. Which to me, is much more endearing than Turtle… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

