So one of the things that sets us apart from the rest of the animal kingdom is our creative abilities.  The visual arts, literature, performance art and my favorite, music.

Music, like other arts, is capable of transcending all social boundaries. At times, this was problematic for social and political conservatives. That’s how censorship was born.

The troubadours of the middle ages were loved and tortured in their time. Black music or ‘colored’ songs were turned into sexual rock and roll or renamed jazz.

As a 43-year-old bipolar, Hispanic, California girl, I can say my brand of music is all over the map. I love some of the music of my youth, some classical and some hilarious stuff as well.

Top 11 (not 10, I hate that) Favorite Singers

Billie Holiday, Stevie Nicks, Tina Turner, Chaka Khan, Aimee Mann, Michael McDonald, Elton John, Marvin Gaye, John Lennon, Kurt Cobain, Bob Marley

Top 11 Favorite Bands

The Beattles, Pink Floyd, The Eagles, Fleetwood Mac, Bad Company, Queen, Nirvana, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Doobie Brothers, Lynard Skynard, U2

I do enjoy Mozart, more current artist as well. Damien Rice, Norah Jones and many others do bring me a great deal of joy. Please give me a few of your favorites as well.

Leave a Reply

