Little Adults

Posted: September 16, 2012 in Children, Life, Mexico, Society
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was thinking about childhood today and wanted to talk about the cool and not so cool things that I notice about kids. Last year, America was introduced to Jackie Evancho. She is an angelic looking and sounding child.

She performed on America’s Got Talent and made me cry like a baby. This year I was moved by Sebastien. He is a young Mariachi singer full of confidence, class and charisma.

I must say. I am so glad he’s Mexican. What a wonderful representative for my people!  That said, there are many kids that are making the world a better place by other means.

Kids are starting nonprofit organizations to help the homeless, animals and yes, other kids. And students everywhere are pledging to stop bullying. This issue is near and dear to my heart.

I, like many, was a victim of bullying. I wish such programs existed when I was a kid. Even now, with all this positive movement, bullying is still a huge problem.

Too many kids have fallen victim to cyber bullying as well. Amazingly, adults are guilty of this too. When a child sees suicide or mass murder as an option, we have failed as a society.

A girl was savagely beaten by a supposed friend and it was recorded and placed on YouTube. The bully went on the Dr. Phil show and tried to justify her behavior.

I asked my niece and nephew how they are with their friends. They are very friendly to all of them and are quick to be inclusive of others. Thankfully, they are relishing their silliness and youth.

The other part to their personas’ are their intellect. These kids are so much smarter and knowledgeable than I was at their age. This is good. They’re going to need the advantage.

Comments
  1. katlynn83 says:

    very well written and I do agree on all your points about bulling because I was bullied when I was in school. check out my blog about bulling.

    Like

  2. I also wish there were anti-bullying programs when I was in school; instead teachers and other students too often just looked the other way. I agree with you, I see great things in children today, and am so glad some things are improving, at least a bit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

