Hilarously Important

Posted: September 2, 2012 in Life, Love, Society, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I was thinking about hilarious moments in my life where I looked and felt like a first class idiot.  There is value in summoning these memories when life gets hard.

Sometimes I get too full of myself and need to be brought down a peg or two. Other times, I remember how such silly moments ended up defining my relationship with others.

In September of 1999, my then boyfriend (now husband), Scott took me to New York to meet his parents. Our future best man, drove us to his parents’ place from JFK.

As soon as he pulled up to the house, I saw Scott’s parents come out to greet us. As I stepped out of the car, I slipped and fell on the stones lining their front yard. I was mortified!

Scott’s mother later told me, at that moment she knew I would fit right into the family. She and Scott’s father could not have been more endearing to me than that moment.

Christmas of 1999, my now fiance and I went back to New York. I was showing off my engagement ring, having a great time with my future in-laws and not having a care in the world.

So, in this euphoric state, I got to be very playful with Scott. Kissing and grabbing at every corner was my game. So one day, I saw the backside a young man (that I thought was Scott) going up the stairs.

I slapped the ass and squeezed a handful of cheek and then he turned around. It was my future brother-in-law, Andy! He was smiling at me and laughing. I could almost die.

I apologized profusely to Andy, his pregnant wife and pretty much everyone in the house. Andy teased that the ‘ass grabbing’ story will probably progress to the ‘remember that time you wanted to have sex with me’ story.

I told that story at my mother and father in-laws 50th wedding anniversary this last July. Everyone had a good laugh over it. And that’s all that matters.

We lost Andy to cancer almost two years ago. He was a good-hearted man, father, brother and son. And I will never forget him. I can’t. I grabbed his ass!

 

Comments
  1. Md. Alsanda says:

    It is Really great and funny, Thanks

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    que bueno que le agarates las nalgas 😉 la vida es de pequeñas cosas

    Like

  3. coconutspeak says:

    Reblogged this on coconutspeak and commented:

    This is how I extended my heart and family. 14 years-ago. I posted this over a year ago.

    Like

  4. Howisbradley says:

    He was a fireman? That just changed your story from funny to hot. 🙂

    Like

  5. Mike says:

    Keep your hands to yourself this xmas 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

