Not surprisingly, as a liberal Democrat, I am pro-choice. That said, I respect all views on this matter.  My reasons for being pro-choice are entirely based on my life experiences.

I grew up with many examples of bad parenting (not just my mother).  I had friends whose parents were less than understand and forthcoming when it came to sex education.

More than a few girlfriends freaked out when they started to menstruate. School nurse stepped in and did what their mothers wouldn’t.  Then there’s the 13 year-old boy who gets grounded for masturbating.

I heard about cases of incest in the remote backwoods of the United States. I thought, what would I do if I got pregnant via incest? Such an area would be ideal for a predator.

If a parent/abuser wants to keep a child from school, all they have to say is that they are home-schooled. What is a child to do in such a case? Schools are the daily eyes and ears of local government when it comes to child safety.

And how often do we hear about ‘the system’ failing to protect children (not fetuses)? Far too many children have suffered abuse, neglect and atrocities right here in America.

The message is simple. Not everyone should be a parent. The Republicans want a nation of Christian-only celibates that wait til their wedding night then make lots of babies.

Birth control and abortion are bad. Really? A reluctant young mother who is annoyed when her baby cries and needs a diaper changed is bad. A sexually repressed man who rapes voiceless, frightened children is worse! And he’s out there.

I think if your pro-life you need to find solutions and safeguards for such situations. If you’re pro-life, ‘the system’ has to work for at-risk kids. If it doesn’t work, blame yourself. You didn’t try hard enough.

And I even have a nun that agrees with me. Sister Joan Chittister, a Benedictine nun, had this to say on Bill Moyers’ show in November of 2004:

“I do not believe that just because you’re opposed to abortion, that makes you pro-life. In fact, I think in many cases, your morality is deeply lacking if all you want is a child born but not a child fed, not a child educated, not a child housed. And why would I think that you don’t? Because you don’t want any tax money to go there. That’s not pro-life. That’s pro-birth. We need a much broader conversation on what the morality of pro-life is.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/jennifer-m-granholm/republicans-what-about-ch_b_1835134.html

Comments
  1. I agree, it is shockingly absurd to me that anyone would actually want to force millions of people to have children that they do not want or are not prepared to properly care for. I’m sure the many children who grow up knowing or even being told that they were an accident and unwanted should be evidence enough of the stupidity of pro-birth policies.

    Like

    • coconutspeak says:

      Very true, my friend. I often time believe that the pro-birthers are sheep that refuse to look at all sides of the issue. This pisses me off to no end. When your ideology can be written on a postage stamp, something is wrong with you.

      Like

  2. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    I agree with all of your sentiments!

    Like

    • coconutspeak says:

      I have no kids of my own, but I still care about them. Sex can be an addiction and/or symptom of mental illness. Why don’t Pro-birthers talk about that? Attempting to legislate people’s sexuality is pointless and dangerous.

      Like

Leave a Reply

