Cousins – Primo Hugo

Posted: July 27, 2012 in Mexico
Tags: , , , ,

I understood why my abuelita was so jealous of the rest of the family.  They had far more dimensions to their personalities. I could talk to them all night, in sheer delight!

My cousin Hugo lived in a detached studio in the corner of the courtyard behind the house. Hugo was in his early 20’s.  He was tall, handsome, funny, bright and kind.  He painted a giant Snoopy on his door, which instantly endeared him to me.  Hugo was an artist and architect.

He and I had long talks about every subject.  His favorite subject was the love of his life, a girl named Leti (short for Leticia).  He use to write her love letters and asked for my opinion on the content.  They were wonderful.

I asked questions that were none of my business. Questions of how he loved Leti.  Rather than putting me in my place, he simply smiled and laughed. Good deflection technique.  He was in love with the look in her eyes, her accepting heart and her happy spirit. I’m sure it didn’t hurt that she was absolutely beautiful, in a playful, jovial way.

Hugo made me see that love could exist in a pure, tender way within a Mexican couple.  Hugo’s true character and demeanor was yet another step to seeing Latinos is a good light.  He was the kind of son any parent would be proud to call their own. And I was very proud to call him my primo.

As usual, abuelita told me to stay away from Hugo.  It wasn’t proper for me to be spending so much time with him, she said.  This was ticking me off.  What did she think we were doing as we chatted in the kitchen or courtyard?  Funny thing was, she never confronted Hugo.

Leave a Reply

